Peter’s Picks Extra! Parents Edition

I had a moment to walk around with my mother and father, as well as Shannon’s parents.  We asked them each to comment on an item in the auction.

Here is what they had to say:

Lot 293:  Dale Chihuly glass
Nancy says:  “I like the shape and color; very crisp colors with a smooth flowing design.  The shape was just so whimsical but yet very fluid. The colors are outstanding in person!  It even looked fantastic on the cardboard it was placed on {Auctioneer note:  It is previewed on the Frank Gehry designed tables}. ”

Lot 216:  Robert Frame painting
Clare says: “It is stunning!  Traveling here from across the US thru Houston and Tucson , we saw a lot of Mesa and mountain areas and valleys.  This painting reminds me of part of that landscape that we saw.  It reminds me also of an Irish Bog scene, but the colors would not be as vivid.”

Lot  82: Charles Hollis Jones Cabinet
Terry says: “I grew up loving Bird’s eye wood.  My folks had several pieces and I was devastated once when my mom painted over one particular piece.  There was a lot of bird’s eye where I grew up in Northern Michigan and I always appreciated it.  I would love to have this to remind me of my sterling youth.”

Lot 422:  Antoine Blanchard painting
Theo says: “It is just something that I would like to continue to look at and receive pleasure from; reminding me of my trips to Paris.”

Lot Information:

293
Dale Chihuly
Macchia Couplet
1982
Blue speckled with orange interior
Studio
Signed and dated “Chihuly, 1982”
8” x 8” x 10” and 8” x 5” x 5”
October 17, 2010 Auction
$6,000-9,000

216
Robert Aaron Frame
Untitled
Oil on canvas
Signed lower right
52” x 54”
October 17, 2010 Auction
$2,000-3,000

82
Charles Hollis Jones
Chest of draw ers and pair of side tables
Studio, designed circa 1970
Burled wood and Lucite
Chest 33”h x 84”l x 18”d;
Side tables 22”h x 26”l x 18”d
October 17, 2010 Auction
$8,000-12,000

422
Antoine Blanchard
Untitled (Paris Scene)
Circa 1950s
Oil on canvas
Signed lower right
20” x 24”; framed 30” x 33.75”
$8,000-10,000

 

 

Leave a Reply

